Next to Jump

Australian GP Postponement Confirmed

Formula 1 officials, the Victorian Government and the Australian Grand Prix Corporation have confirmed that the 2021 Australian Grand Prix has been postponed.

The Australian Formula One Grand Prix has been moved from March to November due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Officials cited continued travel restrictions as the reason for the postponement of the Formula One race. It was agreed that quarantine restrictions related to a “coronavirus pandemic” meant it was not possible to hold the race as originally planned in March.

The Australian Grand Prix, originally scheduled for March 19-21, will now take place on November 19-21. This means that the end of the season in Abu Dhabi has been pushed back to the week of December 12.

“It has been a busy start to the year at Formula 1 and we are pleased to confirm that the number of races planned for the season remains unchanged,” Formula 1 president and chief executive Stefano Domenicali said.

“The global pandemic has not yet allowed life to return to normal, but we showed in 2020 that we can race safely as the first international sport to return and we have the experience and plans in place to deliver on our season.

“It is great news that we have already been able to agree a rescheduled date for the Australian Grand Prix in November.”

The updated 2021 F1 race calendar now looks as follows:

  • March 28 – Bahrain (Sakhir)
  • April 18 – Italy (Imola)
  • May 2 – TBC
  • May 9 – Spain (Barcelona)
  • May 23 – Monaco (Monaco)
  • June 6 – Azerbaijan (Baku)
  • June 13 – Canada (Montreal)
  • June 27 – France (Le Castellet)
  • July 4 – Austria (Spielberg)
  • July 18 – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
  • August 1 – Hungary (Budapest)
  • August 29 -Belgium (Spa)
  • September 5 – Netherlands (Zandvoort)
  • September 12 – Italy (Monza)
  • September 26 – Russia (Sochi)
  • October 3 – Singapore (Singapore)
  • October 10 – Japan (Suzuka)
  • October 24 – USA (Austin)
  • October 31 -Mexico (Mexico City)
  • November 7 – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
  • November 21 – Australia (Melbourne)
  • December 5 -Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)
  • December 12 – Abu Dhabi (Yas Island)